≡ Menu

Guest Reviews

Here are very nice things that people have said about us in a selection of GUEST REVIEWS from Tripadvisor, Booking.com, Laterooms.com & other Booking Sites

 

An excellent happy and comfortable night in a very pleasant room – followed by an excellent Sunday lunch.”
Reviewed December 2015
We required over night accommodation before attending a private function locally. We were very pleased with our room, and we were made welcome from the moment we arrived. We were very pleased to return on the Sunday for lunch before we left. As well as Sunday roasts being available, so was the full menu which we appreciated.

If we ever wish to stay in that area again we shall not hesitate in returning to the Horse ad Groom.

Stayed December 2015.

 

Very good pub B & B
Reviewed 24 November 2015
We stayed one night in a double room with a small en-suite shower room. The accommodation and amenities provided were good and the bed comfortable. The location is quiet and we slept well.
Breakfast was very good with hot dishes cooked to order. Service efficient and friendly.
We did not dine in the pub as we were visiting friends, but the bar and restaurant area looked very nice.
Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple.

 

Two night stay
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Stayed for two nights on our way back from a family visit down south. Lovely warm friendly welcome, superb accommodation, all the usual amenities, excellent food and very helpful staff. Just the tonic for a peaceful stay after a hectic London visit. We had a lovely trip around part of the Cotswolds which was within easy reach. Would highly recommend a stay and will definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple

 

Sunday Lunch
Reviewed 26 October 2015 

Had a wonderful Sunday lunch 25.10.15. for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. Great food and exceptional service – loved it!. This is our favourite place to eat, nothing is ever too much trouble. I requested our favourite dessert in advance, chocolate and cherry trifle – to die for!.

Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple

 

Second visit just as good
Reviewed 19 October 2015

This was our second visit to this hotel to take 2 friends to Bletchley Park. We prefered to stay here rather than an informal (and more expensive!) hotel in Milton Keynes. We stayed on a Tuesday evening and the place was quiet but the food was again excellent, the staff were welcoming and attentive.

Stayed October 2015, travelled with friends

 

Good food & atmosphere
Reviewed 17 October 2015 

Last minute decision to eat out thought we would try this pub as we were in the village. Would definitely recommend. Staff were really friendly and efficient. Food was great (steak) and reasonably priced. We really liked the feel of the pub it was welcoming and reminded me of the traditional local that sadly is more and more hard to find these days. Very clean too! Well worth a visit

Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple

 

Stayed 1 Night
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We stayed here for one night to meet friends on our way back from Cheshire. We had a bar lunch and evening meal followed by breakfast the following morning.
The inn is old and the rooms were quirky but comfortable and all very clean. The food was excellent for all meals and there were 6 of us so we had a variety of food from the menu. This was a Monday night and the restaurant was full which speaks for itself.

Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends

 

Ideal pub restaurant for that family celebration
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We booked for a family celebration lunch and were not disappointed. The food and the service were both excellent. We greeted with a warm welcome and the staff were prompt in bringing the drinks ordered whilst we waited for everyone to arrive. The menu choice was varied and catered for all and included children’s meals/portions. We will definitely be revisiting the Horse and Groom.

Stayed October 2015, travelled with family

 

“Great accommodation ,food and service”
Reviewed 26.01.14
Had a great overnight stay at this welcoming pub. Very enjoyable breakfast and room very neat and tidy although only skylight hence no windows also no clear view outside from room. There is plenty of parking outside in their carpark and also overflow parking across the road.

 

“Excellent meal, in lovely surroundings, very attentive staff”
We had a lovely meal here just before Christmas, the food was first class, excellent service the staff were helpful and courteous, considering the restaurant had another booking of 30 people we were treated very well and can only praise the H and G for delivering us a delicious and memorable Christmas meal. Plus the meal was really good value. Will definitely go back.
Stayed December 2014, travelled with friends

 

“A great little hideaway in Oxfordshire”
Reviewed 7 December 2014
Came here during a busy Saturday evening with lots of Christmas parties but service not affected. Special shout out for the young girl, Bethany, behind the bar .. always smiling and made us feel very welcome .. would return just for her hospitality and bubbly personality!
Stayed December 2014, travelled with friends

 

“Good service and food”
Reviewed 2 November 2014
Went with friends last night and the only problem was there was only one piece of cod – but not a problem because nobody else wanted it!
Fried Hake Fillet was very good and all of the food seemed well planned and prepared.
Stayed November 2014, travelled with friends

 

“Relaxation AND good food!”
Reviewed 24 September 2014
What a relief when we found this (sat navs not oap friendly in our experience) as soon as we stepped inside for our 2 night stay we relaxed We tried the food on our food on the first evening as we were tired and didn’t look elsewhere for the following evening either Both breakfasts were excellent and all the staff without exception were very very kind and helpful Many customers appeared to be local generally a good sign All we need now is an excuse to return to the area!
Stayed September 2014, travelled with family

 

“Delicious food & best village pub in the area!”
Reviewed 18 September 2014
I had previously been to the Horse & Groom for lunch & really enjoyed the food & service was great. Our anniversary was coming up so we thought we’d go for a nice meal out. The food was excellent & couldn’t fault any of it. The service on the whole was fine, the only negative was one of the bar staff who miserably greeted us on arrival, seemed like they would rather be somewhere else!
Stayed September 2014

 

“2 for 1 Burger Night”
Reviewed 11 August 2014
There are lots of great deals here! A group of us went for the 2 for 1 burger night and it was fantastic. Food is great and the portion size is huge! It’s nice that they don’t change the meal when they have an offer in. There is a good selection of wine and beer. Friendly service.
Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends

 

“Great food, great service and great beer!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014
We visited the Horse and Groom Inn for a meal and a drink on Friday 11th July at around 7pm. We had not booked and the bar and restaurant were very busy but the waitress found us a small table in the bar and promptly brought us menus. We shared the large portion of home made nachos for a starter, too much for 2 people but delicious! I had the fish pie with chips and my other half had the home made burger. Both meals were fabulous and the wine (drank by me) and the beer (consumed by the other half) were cold and equally delicious. The staff were attentive but not over-powering even though they were very busy. I would recommend this little find to anyone looking for good, home made food, the menu varies and is not just the usual ‘pub grub’. Will definitely be visiting again very soon.

 

“Well worth staying here!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile
Picked this accommodation from Booking.com as needed a place to lay our heads after the CLA game fair.
As it was very last minute, we were lucky to find anywhere, but what a find!
Great hosts, great pub, fantastic food and very clean, comfortable rooms. Full English breakfast the next morning or smoked salmon and the most delicious scrambled eggs. We couldn’t have asked for more. Thank you Horse and Groom, you surpassed our expectations!

 

“A brief but very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014
We stayed at the Horse and Groom for just one night before going to the CLA Game fair at Blenheim Palace. Arriving later than planned (thanks to various road related issues on the M25 & M40 no surprises there !!) we were warmly greeted and were under no pressure to get to our reserved table for dinner. Having refreshed, we had a lovely evening meal with excellent but not over intrusive service and continued discussions with our hosts.
Our room was clean and tidy and had everything we required for our nights stay including a good selection of teas,coffees and toiletries.
A good hearty breakfast the next morning set us up perfectly for our day.
Overall a very pleasant stay and thanks to all the staff who contributed to this.Pity it was so short so we are looking to go back and explore the local area.
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple.

 

“Nice burgers ”
Reviewed 22 July 2014
Been here on a number of occasions and the food is always good. Normally go for the burgers as they’re always really nice. (Would like the option of sweet potato fries) Nice relaxed atmosphere, maybe a little to relaxed on the service sometimes, but as pubs go a very good all round experience.

 

“Wonderful staff delicious food!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014
I visited here with my sister, dad and our children. The pub has been newly refurbished and is lovely, the bar lady could not do enough to help us, they didn’t have chicken nuggets on the menu but the chef coated chicken breast in lovely batter especially for our children! I had the smoked salmon and mackerel pate which was really tasty, the chips were good and it is great value for money. Will be visiting hers again for sure. Stayed July 2014

 

“What a lovely stay!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014
My family stayed here for two nights in July 2014 – hot off a plane from the USA and enroute to visit family in Lincolnshire and Kent. We had two rooms. Both were lovely and very comfortable. We ate both evening meals in the pub downstairs and the food was wonderful and atmosphere very convivial with friendly, caring staff. Breakfast in the mornings were delicious. The owners have thought of everything to make their guests comfortable and nothing is too much trouble from fans in the bedrooms to the thickest bath towels I have ever seen in a hotel. It was a very enjoyable stay and we plan to visit again. Thank you so much!
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family.

 

BOOKING.COM

 

27.01.15
Very welcoming, easy access, very comfortable room and very nice breakfast.

 

07.01.15
The shower could have had more power. The food was first class. The best tempura prawns I’ve tasted in a very long time. Great breakfast.

 

18.12.14
room was very nice.pub fantastic , food amazing , really friendly and excellent .

 

14.12.14
Creaky floors, but 17th century inn so shouldn’t complain. Good clean room, nice view over the road from windows. friendly staff, cleaning lady etc. good food, lovely BLT sandwich. didn’t take main meal. nice to see the regulars from the village coming in for Saturday lunch.

 

14.12.14
Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Warm welcome and good beer.

 

14.12.14
Warm, hospitable owners and staff. Great food. Delicious breakfast. Comfy bed. Great atmosphere and decor in the restaurant and bar.

 

10.12.14
The food, the atmosphere & value for money.

 

02.12.14
The accomodation was lovely, owner was friendly. They rang in advance of our stay to see if we wanted to book a table as the restaurant was getting booked up. Food was excellent, I would highly recommend this place to stay.

 

11.11.14
We arrived at 9 am but despite the place being shut we were welcomed in and given coffees. Rooms were nice No 4 larger and more up to date than room 3 but room 3 had a large bathroom so as a group of four we were all very happy! Really have to mention the fabulous food all of us had great meals followed by a superb breakfast. Friendly bar and roaring fire couldn’t ask for more really!

 

04.11.14
We were staying here to attend a wedding locally. We found the accommodation very comfortable, the breakfast amazing and the staff very helpful. Thank you for a great visit just wish we could have stayed longer!

 

LATEROOMS.COM

 

November 2014
Lovely accommodation with fantastic food in cosy pub. The Horse & Groom is a lovely village pub with rooms. We had a cosy, romantic evening in the pub, eating great food in front of a roaring fire. Very convenient for those travelling to the Vision Motorsport circuit down the road.

 

November 2014
A lovely room, excellent food and very good service. We had a most enjoyable stay.

 

October 2014
A warm welcome awaits you at the Horse and Groom Pub B&B. The room was very good size and very warm and comfortable. The food in the evening and breakfast was excellent.

 

October 2014
Recommended. Great food and hospitality.

 

July 2014
Weekend break
Stayed here on a Saturday night asked for a quiet room and got one had a very comfortable stay our breakfast was good quality and good choice not buffet so cooked fresh as was our evening meal staff very helpful and polite.

 

May 2014
Staff were all great with a real dedication to customer satisfaction. The food at dinner with a couple of real ales and at breakfast with excellent local produce was both good quality and value for money. The room was adequate for my stay with a comfortable rather than top quality feel, but overall a really good experience.

 

April 2014
Super night at horse & groom. Excellent accommodation & food.staff superb.

 

April 2014
Worth a stay just for the breakfast. Set in an old, and very charming pub, full of original features and open fires. Our room was adequate, but nothing to write home about. That said – we slept well and were well rested so have no complaints. Service was friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was one of the best we have had and would return on this basis alone. Absolutely top notch ingredients, locally sourced, and cooked to perfection. It cannot be faulted. Superb.

 

February 2014
Excellent place to stay, will stay again.

 

January 2014
Very helpful and delightfully friendly staff.Very high standard of food, menu choice ,presentation and taste. A small pub with a big heart, excelling in every way.

An Atelier de Moratti production – Photography by Ivor McCullagh – © 2014 The Horse & Groom Inn